Loading Events

« All Events

“Escape to Hope”

May 13 @ 7:30 pm 10:00 pm MDT

“Escape to Hope” with a concert celebrating bright futures ahead.


Saturday, May 13, 2023
7:30 PM
Pre-Concert Lecture at 6:30


Lincoln Center Main Stage
417 W. Magnolia St.
Fort Collins, CO 80521


$25-67 adult, $10 student/child
$25 Livestream
Purchase Tickets

Worried about what to wear? Where to sit? When to clap?
Visit our
Newcomers Guide.

SC5 Escape to Hope

American composer Michael Abels is most widely known as the composer for Joran Peele’s hit movies “Get Out,” “Us,” and “Nope.” He wrote Global Warming in 1990 to describe the warming of international relations after the fall of the Berlin Wall.

Claude Debussy’s Nocturnes was inspired by poetry and conjures images of clouds, festivals, and enchanting sirens.

“Escape to Hope” ends with Ukrainian composer Sergei Prokofiev’s Symphony No. 5, written during World War II as troops stormed the beach at Normandy. The symphony celebrates the “grandeur of the human spirit.”

On this concert:

Global Warming, by Michael Abels
Duration: 8 min

Nocturnes, by Claude Debussy
Duration: 24 min

Intermission: 20 min

Symphony No. 5, by Sergei Prokofiev
Duration: 42 min

Spotify Playlist:

Free week-of-concert events:

Composer talk
Composer Talks with Dr. K. Dawn Grapes

Composer Talk:

Join CSU professor Dr. K. Dawn Grapes on the Wednesday prior to most Signature concerts for an entertaining and informative lecture about the upcoming featured composers. Light refreshments. Sponsored by the Friends of the Symphony.

Wednesday, May 10
12:00 – 1:00 PM, at the Old Town Library

Open Rehearsal:

Learn firsthand what it takes for an orchestra to bring live music to the stage. Houselights remain on during this comfortable preview of each upcoming Signature concert. The rehearsal closes to the public at 8:30 p.m. intermission.

Thursday, May 11
7:00 – 8:30 PM, at the Lincoln Center

Maestro’s Musings:

Prior to each Signature concert, join Maestro Wes Kenney for a pre-concert talk about the music you will hear.

Saturday, May 13
6:30 – 7:00 PM, at the Lincoln Center
Included with ticket purchase

FCS Sponsors and Advertisers:

Center Stage Sponsor:

Ken Garff Ford Fort Collins

Season Sponsors:

Dr. David and Alison Dennis

Dr. Ed Siegel

Dr. Peter Springberg

City of Fort Collins Fort Fund Logo
The Lyric Cinema
Colorado Creative Industires
National Endowment for the Arts - wide

Concertmaster Sponsor:

Drs. Ann Yanagi and Scott Johnston


The advertisers below help make our concerts possible. Please show them your support, and let them know you came from the Fort Collins Symphony. Click the logo to visit their website.

Get your tickets at LCTix.com

Keep in touch

Get concert announcements, educational articles, and musician interviews right to your inbox.

Don't live nearby? Most of our concerts are also live-streamed.