Loading Events

« All Events

“Escape to Enchantment” – Signature Concert No. 1

October 1 @ 7:30 pm 9:30 pm

To open the 2022-2023 Season, your Fort Collins Symphony presents two pieces written for the FCS: Star-Spangled Banner Fanfare by Fort Collins native Ethan Boxley and Ostinato Fantastico by CSU professor James David.

Cesar Franck’s meditative Symphony in D Minor contrasts beautifully with living composer Samuel Zyman’s colorful and rhythmic Encuentros.

Spanish folk melodies provide the inspiration for Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov’s exuberant Capriccio Espagnole.


Saturday, October 1, 2022
7:30 PM
Pre-Concert Lecture at 6:30


Lincoln Center Main Stage
417 W. Magnolia St.
Fort Collins, CO 80521


$25-67 adult, $10 student/child.
Available August 17
at LCTix.com

This concert is also available for Livestream.

SC1 Escape to Enchantment

What’s interesting about this concert:

The season opens with Ethan Boxley’s Lyric Fanfare on the Star Spangled Banner. This version of our National Anthem was written for the FCS in 2018. It is set in a lower key to make it easier for everybody to sing the anthem’s high notes.

César Franck’s Symphony in D minor is one of the only symphonies written by a French composer. In it, he creates a unique and meditative experience by combining the worlds of French sound and color with German form and architecture.

Some of history’s most fantastic music is based on repeating rhythms. James David’s Ostinato Fantastico explores the “universally compelling and alluring force” of repeated rhythms to create a thrilling tour-de-force for the orchestra. This will be the first performance of this piece: a world premiere!

Mexican composer Samuel Zyman’s colorful and rhythmic Encuentros (Encounters) celebrates the cultural “encounters” and the crossroads of Mexico. It was written for the 1992 Expo in Seville, Spain: “The Age of Discovery.”

The concert closes with Capriccio Espagnole by Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov. This exciting piece was inspired by Spanish folk melodies and features solos from many instruments in the orchestra.

On this concert:

Ethan Boxley – Lyric Fanfare for the National Anthem

Cesar Franck – Symphony in D Minor

James David – Ostinato Fantastico (World Premier)

Samuel Zyman – Encuentros (Encounters)

Nikolai Rimsky Korsakov – Capriccio Espagnole

Spotify Playlist:

Join us for:

Composer Talk:

Join CSU professor Dr. K. Dawn Grapes on the Wednesday prior to most Signature concerts for an entertaining and informative lecture about the upcoming featured composers. Light refreshments. Sponsored by the Friends of the Symphony.

Wednesday, September 28
12 noon, at the Old Town Library

Open Rehearsal:

Learn firsthand what it takes for an orchestra to bring live music to the stage. Houselights remain on during this comfortable preview of each upcoming Signature concert. The rehearsal closes to the public at 8:30 p.m. intermission. Sponsored by Bank of Colorado.

Thursday, September 29
7:00 PM, at the Lincoln Center

Maestro’s Musings:

Prior to each Signature concert, join Maestro Wes Kenney for his musings on what you are about to hear.

Saturday, October 1
6:30 PM, at the Lincoln Center
Included with ticket purchase


Dr. David and Alison Dennis

Dr. Ed Siegel

Dr. Peter Springberg and Janet Kowall

City of Fort Collins Fort Fund Logo
The Lyric Cinema
Colorado Creative Industires
National Endowment for the Arts - wide


The advertisers below help make our concerts possible. Please show them your support, and let them know you came from the Fort Collins Symphony. Click the logo to visit their website.

Tickets available August 17th

Keep in touch!

Subscribe to our email newsletter to stay up-to-date with everything FCS.

Be the first to hear about concert announcements, updates, and fascinating information about the music we play.