Loading Events

« All Events

“Escape to Delight” – Signature Concert No. 3

February 4, 2023 @ 7:30 pm 9:30 pm

This evening’s performance includes Guadeloupean Creole classical composer Joseph Bologne’s dance-like Symphony No. 1, Joseph Haydn’s fanciful Symphony No. 103, Drum Roll, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s precocious Piano Concerto No. 24, and American composer Amy Beach’s delightful waltz, Bal Masqué.


Saturday, February 4, 2023
7:30 PM
Pre-Concert Lecture at 6:30


Lincoln Center Main Stage
417 W. Magnolia St.
Fort Collins, CO 80521


$25-67 adult, $10 student/child.
Available August 17
at LCTix.com

This concert is also available for Livestream

SC3 Escape to Delight

What’s interesting about this concert:

Amy Beach was the first significant female composer in American History, and one of the first American composers to not earn her reputation by studying in Europe. Her piece Bal Masqué is a short, delightful waltz that will end the concert evening.

Joseph Haydn, Joseph Bologne, and Mozart are three of the most important composers from the classical period. Haydn is considered the “Father of the Symphony.” Joseph Bologne was often referred to as the “Black Mozart,” as he was the first significant Black classical composer. He commissioned and premiered Haydn’s six “Paris” Symphonies, numbers 82-87. Mozart a good friend of Haydn, called the Paris Symphonies “concert essentials.”

Mozart wrote 28 piano concertos, mostly for himself to perform with an orchestra. His Piano Concerto No. 24 is believed by some historians to be his greatest concerto. The final movement is a set of variations, which means that Mozart chose a melody and then transforms it into many different forms.

Before becoming a professional musician, Joseph Bologne achieved fame as a fencer. It is said that he was only ever defeated once. At age 17, he was appointed an officer of King Louis XV’s guard, earning him the title “Le Chevalier de Saint-Georges.”

On this concert:

Joseph Bologne – Symphony No. 1 in G Major

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – Piano Concerto No. 24 in C Minor

Franz Joseph Haydn – Symphony No. 103, Drum Roll

Amy Beach – Bal Masqué

Spotify Playlist:

Join us for:

Composer Talk:

Join CSU professor Dr. K. Dawn Grapes on the Wednesday prior to most Signature concerts for an entertaining and informative lecture about the upcoming featured composers. Light refreshments. Sponsored by the Friends of the Symphony.

Wednesday, February 1
12 noon, at the Old Town Library

Open Rehearsal:

Learn firsthand what it takes for an orchestra to bring live music to the stage. Houselights remain on during this comfortable preview of each upcoming Signature concert. The rehearsal closes to the public at 8:30 p.m. intermission. Sponsored by Bank of Colorado.

Thursday, February 2
7:00 PM, at the Lincoln Center

Maestro’s Musings:

Prior to each Signature concert, join Maestro Wes Kenney for his musings on what you are about to hear.

Saturday, February 4
6:30 PM, at the Lincoln Center
Included with ticket purchase


Dr. David and Alison Dennis

Dr. Ed Siegel

Dr. Peter Springberg and Janet Kowall

City of Fort Collins Fort Fund Logo
The Lyric Cinema
Colorado Creative Industires
National Endowment for the Arts - wide


The advertisers below help make our concerts possible. Please show them your support, and let them know you came from the Fort Collins Symphony. Click the logo to visit their website.

Tickets available August 17th

Keep in touch!

Subscribe to our email newsletter to stay up-to-date with everything FCS.

Be the first to hear about concert announcements, updates, and fascinating information about the music we play.