Loading Events

« All Events

Signature Concert 2: Energized, Unsure & Triumphant

November 6 @ 7:30 pm

Energized, Unsure, and Triumphant FCS Signature Concert 2

This concert is also available for Livestream on November 6th or Webcast replay on November 14th.

Three composers explore an assortment of emotions ranging from despair to exhilaration. Coleridge-Taylor Perkinson challenges us with uncertainty in his interpretation of Carl Sandburg’s metaphorical poem, Grass. Felix Mendelssohn’s exuberant romp in Piano Concerto No. 1 was quickly composed after a trip to Italy. And, Ludwig van Beethoven’s Symphony No. 3, Eroica (Heroic) dives into the emotional landscapes of war with its complexities of helplessness, grief, tenderness and triumph.

Lincoln Center

417 West Magnolia St
Fort Collins, CO 80521


  • Grass – Coleridge-Taylor Perkinson
  • Piano Concerto No. 1 – Felix Mendelssohn,
  • Symphony No. 3, Eroica – Ludwig van Beethoven

Guest Artist:

Pianist Bryan Wallick

Pianist Bryan Wallick

Gold medalist of the 1997 Vladimir Horowitz International Piano Competition in Kiev, Bryan Wallick has performed throughout the United States, Europe, and Africa. He made his New York recital debut in 1998 at Carnegie’s Weill Recital Hall and his Wigmore Hall recital debut in London in 2003.  He has also performed at London’s Queen Elizabeth Hall with the London Sinfonietta and at the St. Martin-in-the-Fields Church with the London Soloist’s Chamber Orchestra. In recent seasons he has given solo recitals at the Ravinia Festival, Colorado State University, Grand Teton Music Festival, University of Texas at El Paso, Scottsdale Center in Arizona, and throughout South Africa and Zimbabwe. 

Mr. Wallick has performed recently as concerto soloist with the Memphis Symphony, Johannesburg Philharmonic, Phoenix Symphony, Portland Symphony and Winston-Salem Symphony, among many others, and has concertized frequently with Zuill Bailey. He studied with Jerome Lowenthal in New York City where he was the first Juilliard School graduate to receive both an undergraduate Honors Diploma (2000) and an accelerated master’s Degree (2001).  He continued his studies with Christopher Elton in London at the Royal Academy of Music where he was the recipient of the Associated Board International Scholarship, receiving a Post-graduate Diploma with Distinction, and previously studied with Eugene and Elisabeth Pridonoff at the Cincinnati College Conservatory of Music. Wallick has recently been appointed as assistant-professor of piano at Colorado State University where he lives with his wife and three children.

Learn more about Bryan Wallick on his website: BryanWallick.com.


Season Sponsors:

City of Fort Collins Fort Fund Logo

Dr. David and Alison Dennis

Dr. Ed Siegel

Dr. Peter Springberg and Janet Kowall

Concert Sponsors:

Coming Soon!

Week-of Concert Events:

Composer Talks

Wednesday, November 3 at noon
at the Old Town Library

Join CSU professor Dr. Dawn Grapes on the Wednesday prior to most Signature concerts for an entertaining and informative lecture about the upcoming featured composers. Light refreshments. Sponsored by the Friends of the Symphony.

Open Rehearsals

Thursday, November 4 at 7:00 p.m.
at the Lincoln Center

Learn firsthand what it takes for an orchestra to bring live music to the stage. Houselights remain on during this comfortable preview of each upcoming Signature concert. The rehearsal closes to the public at 8:30 p.m. intermission.

Pre-Concert Talks

Saturday, November 6 at 6:30 p.m.
at the Lincoln Center
included with ticket purchase

Prior to each Signature concert, join Maestro Wes Kenney for his musings on what you are about to hear.

Program Notes:

Coming Soon!